Jean Limosin

Lot 38
Got to lot
Estimation :
15000 - 20000 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 88 000EUR
Jean Limosin

Plate in polychrome painted enamel and translucent enamels on straws with gold highlights, representing the equestrian Emperor Vitellius on a blue horse carrying the scepter of Imperator.
It is set on a black background stitched with gold, resting on a green mound punctuated with foliage. The marli bears the inscriptions A.Viteilius.German.Imp.Aug.P.M.Tr.P, the wing decorated with floral scrolls, quatrefoils and faces underlined with drapery. The border has double gold fillets and white enamel.
The reverse side is enamelled blue powdered and decorated with a stylized radiating motif, gilded and glossy silver, in a frame of scrolls in recall on the wing.
Signed I.L in gold lettering for Jean Limosin.
Limoges, late 16th century. (wear and tear, small restorations on the wing on the right and on the reverse as well as on the border, but very good general condition.
D.: 20 cm.
Our plates, unpublished until today, were originally part of a series of twelve representing the Caesars on horseback. Jean Limosin is inspired here by the engravings of Crispjn de Passe l'ancien after Jean Van der Straet dit Stradanus, published in Utrecht before 1600 (fig.1 and 2). This series itself derives from another set inspired again by Jean Van der Straet, but engraved by Adriaen Collaert between 1587 and 1589. The Caesars are represented on horseback, but unlike the first version the engraver no longer raises them on a pedestal but on a mound. Jean Limosin mixes the inspirations by drawing the model of the inscriptions identifying each emperor on the marli according to the nomenclature established by Marcantonio Raimondi at the beginning of the 16th century.
If our plate showing Vitellius faithfully takes up the features of the engraving, the one representing Vespasian reveals an error of attribution since contrary to what is indicated on the marli, it is indeed Caligula which is represented here.
It is easy to imagine the division of tasks within t
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

Jean Limosin

Lot 38
Aller au lot
Estimation :
15000 - 20000 EUR
Résultats avec frais
Résultat : 88 000EUR
Jean Limosin

Assiette en émail peint polychrome et émaux translucides sur paillons avec rehauts d'or, représentant l'Empereur Vitellius équestre, sur un cheval bleu portant le sceptre d'Imperator.
Il s'inscrit sur un fond noir piqué d'or, reposant sur un tertre vert ponctué de feuillages. Le marli porte les inscriptions A.Viteilius.German.Imp.Aug.P.M.Tr.P, l'aile à décor de rinceaux fleuris, quatrefeuilles et visages soulignés de draperies. La bordure à double filets d'or et émail blanc.
L'envers émaillé bleu poudré à décor d'un motif rayonnant stylisé, doré et lustré argent, dans un encadrement de rinceaux en rappel sur l'aile.
Signée I.L en lettre or pour Jean Limosin.
Limoges, fin du XVIe siècle. (usures, petites restaurations sur l'aile à droite et au revers ainsi que sur la bordure, mais très bon état général.)
D.: 20 cm.
Nos assiettes, inédites jusqu'à ce jour, devaient à l'origine faire partie d'une série de douze représentant les Césars à cheval. Jean Limosin s'inspire ici des gravures de Crispjn de Passe l'ancien d'après Jean Van der Straet dit Stradanus, publiées à Utrecht avant 1600 (fig.1 et 2). Cette série dérive elle-même d'un autre ensemble inspiré là encore par Jean Van der Straet, mais gravé par Adriaen Collaert entre 1587 et 1589. Les Césars sont représentés à cheval, mais à la différence de la première version le graveur ne les élève plus sur un socle mais sur un tertre. Jean Limosin mélange les inspirations en puisant le modèle des inscriptions identifiant chaque empereur sur le marli selon la nomenclature établie par Marcantonio Raimondi au début du XVIe siècle.
Si notre assiette figurant Vitellius reprend fidèlement les traits de la gravure, celle représentant Vespasien révèle une erreur d'attribution puisque contrairement à ce qui est indiqué sur le marli, c'est bien Caligula qui est ici représenté.
On imagine aisément les divisions des taches au sein de l'atelier, le préposé en charge des inscriptions à l'or identifia
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue