Henri MARTIN (1860-1943)

Lot 155
Got to lot
Estimation :
100000 - 200000 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 170 016EUR
Henri MARTIN (1860-1943)

Pergola in autumn, Marquayrol
Oil on canvas.
Signed lower left.
84 x 80.5 cm
Provenance:
- Old Gabriel Holagray Collection (1858-1959)
- In his descendants
Gabriel Holagray, collector of Henri Martin Gabriel Holagray was born in 1858 in Bordeaux to a family of iron and metal dealers. He obtained a law degree in 1881 and took the oath of office as a lawyer the same year. Passionate about art history, he makes many trips to Italy and collects paintings and sculptures. A scholar, dedicated to the study of Dante's literary works and translation, he died at the age of 101 at his Castel- Terrefort estate in Talence.
Holagray is a founding member and secretary of the Société des amis des Art de Bordeaux, where he regularly exhibits between 1900-1930. During the 54th Exhibition in 1906 where he exhibited 4 paintings.
From symbolism to impressionism
Born in Toulouse, Henri Martin completed his apprenticeship at the School of Fine Arts in his native city between 1877 and 1879. In 1885, he left for Italy with the two painters Edmond Aman-Jean and Ernest Laurent, friends and admirers of the neo-impressionist Seurat. At the same time, Henri Martin is fascinated by the character of Sar Peladan, high priest of symbolism, founder of the Rose+Croix salon, a manifestation of "dream against reality, beauty against the ugly". In the 1890s, Henri Martin's painting was bathed in ambient symbolism, even if his small dotted line owed its neo-impressionist formation.
In 1900, the painter acquired the property of Marquayrol, Domaine du Lot, located 20km from Cahors and overlooking the village of Labastide-du-Vert. The estate, the house, the valley and the surrounding landscape will be the favourite motifs of his painting until his death. Henri Martin had a pergola built there and represented it in the different seasons. The impressionistic flamboyance of our painting is characteristic of the painter's artistic balance and development after 1
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

Henri MARTIN (1860-1943)

Lot 155
Aller au lot
100 000 - 200 000 EUR
Résultats avec frais
Résultat : 170 016 EUR

Henri MARTIN (1860-1943)


Pergola à l'automne, Marquayrol
Huile sur toile.
Signée en bas à gauche.
84 x 80,5 cm
Provenance:
- Ancienne Collection Gabriel Holagray (1858-1959)
- Dans sa descendance
Gabriel Holagray, collectionneur d'Henri Martin Gabriel Holagray est né en 1858 à Bordeaux d'une famille de négociants en fer et métaux. Il obtient une licence en droit en 1881 et prête le serment d'avocat la même année. Passionné d'histoire de l'art, il fait de nombreux voyages en Italie et collectionne peintures et sculptures. Erudit, se consacrant à l'étude d'œuvres littéraires et à la traduction de Dante, il meurt à 101 ans dans sa propriété Castel- Terrefort à Talence.
Holagray est membre fondateur et secrétaire de la société des amis des Art de Bordeaux où il expose régulièrement entre 1900-1930. Lors de la 54e Exposition en 1906 où il expose 4 tableaux.
Du symbolisme à l'impressionnisme
Né à Toulouse, Henri Martin effectue son apprentissage à l'école des Beaux-Arts de sa ville natale entre 1877 et 1879. En 1885, il part en Italie en compagnie des deux peintres Edmond Aman-Jean et Ernest Laurent, amis et admirateurs du néo -impressionniste Seurat. Henri Martin est parallèlement fasciné par le personnage de Sar Peladan, grand prêtre du symbolisme, fondateur du salon des Rose+Croix, manifestation «du rêve contre le réel, du beau contre le laid». Dans les années 1890, la peinture d'Henri Martin est baignée par le symbolisme ambiant même si sa petite touche pointillée est redevable de sa formation néo-impressionniste.
En 1900, le peintre fait l'acquisition de la propriété de Marquayrol, domaine du Lot, situé à 20km de Cahors et qui surplombe le village de Labastide-du-Vert. Le domaine, la maison, la vallée et le paysage alentours seront les motifs favoris de sa peinture jusqu'à sa mort. Henri Martin y fait construire une pergola qu'il représente aux différentes saisons. Le flamboiement impressionniste de notre tableau est caractéristique de l'équilibre et de l'épanouissement artistique du peintre survenu après 1900, suite à l'abandon du Symbolisme de ses premières années. «Le Soleil a rougi les vignes vierges dont l'adorable incendie éclate avec une poétique douceur» (Apollinaire).
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de ventes
Retourner au catalogue