An 18th century Vincennes porcelain shell... - Lot 13 - Coutau-Bégarie

Lot 13
Got to lot
Estimation :
500 - 800 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 1 159EUR
An 18th century Vincennes porcelain shell... - Lot 13 - Coutau-Bégarie
An 18th century Vincennes porcelain shell tray with a later gilt metal mount with two rows of scallops
The tray with a blue mark with two intertwined L's, a date letter C, a painter's mark for Thévenet, père, a recessed mark M A concentric polychrome decoration of bouquets of flowers, blue combs and gold filleting on the edge, a small chip and minor wear, the mount with one shell missing and another detached
D. of the tray : 27 cm.
H. total : 41 cm
Notes :
Based on a model created by the merchant Poirier. Four other complete examples are kept in the collections of the Casino del Cavaliere in the gardens of the Pitti Palace in Florence. It is interesting to note that at least one of the trays of this collection bears the same painted marks as this lot.
Let us also mention the three examples from the collection of the Earl of Rosebery, at Mentmore: two were sold by Sotheby's London, May 24, 1977, lots 2071 and 2072 (one of them is illustrated by Tamara Préaud and Antoine d'Albis, La porcelaine de Vincennes, Paris, 1991, p.167 ), the third one is still in the possession of his descendants at Dalmeny House, Edinburgh
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

Plateau d'étagère à coquilles en porcelaine... - Lot 13 - Coutau-Bégarie

Lot 13
Aller au lot
Estimation :
500 - 800 EUR
Plateau d'étagère à coquilles en porcelaine... - Lot 13 - Coutau-Bégarie
Plateau d'étagère à coquilles en porcelaine de Vincennes du XVIIIe siècle, à monture postérieure en métal doré à deux rangs de coquilles Saint-Jacques
Le plateau avec marque en bleu aux deux L entrelacés, lettre date C, marque de peintre pour Thévenet, père, marque en creux M A décor polychrome concentrique de bouquets de fleurs, peignés bleus et filet or sur le bord, petit éclat et petites usures, la monture avec une coquille manquante et une autre détachée
D. du plateau : 27 cm.
H. totale : 41 cm
Notes :
D'après un modèle créé par le marchand-mercier Poirier. Quatre autres exemplaires complets sont conservés dans les collections du Casino del Cavaliere dans les jardins du Palais Pitti à Florence. Il est intéressant de noter qu'au moins un des plateaux de cette collection porte les mêmes marques peintes que ce lot.
Citons aussi les trois exemplaires provenant des collections du comte de Rosebery, à Mentmore : deux ont été vendus par Sotheby's Londres, le 24 mai 1977, lots 2071 et 2072 (un des deux est illustré par Tamara Préaud et Antoine d'Albis, La porcelaine de Vincennes, Paris, 1991, p.167 ), le troisième exemplaire se trouvant toujours chez ses descendants à Dalmeny House, Edimbourg
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue